The Power of Partnership

Every once in a while, I look back and wonder what has really made a difference in my life. Looking at the past six years or so, I don’t have to look very hard: as a writer, I owe much to the power of partnership.

HAC2Cover-small-19Jan2011

My first story was published in 2011 as part of an anthology – a partnership almost by definition. Moreover, the two outstanding editors of this Canadian collection (A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider) made a point of involving everyone at each stage of the publication.

And so I found myself immersed in an exciting partnership with the other contributors, all members of The Word Guild.

img_1874

24 of the 37 contributors to A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider, June 2011

When the time came to write another story, it was a natural step for me to partner with a friend from church, Christine Kenel-Peters, whose story I had witnessed first-hand.

christinekenelpeters-margueritecummings-hacc-02

It was so encouraging to meet with Christine, and to hear how God had helped her at each step of the way in her adventures! Moreover, this opened new horizons for me as I learned about the ways of Canadian First Nations people.

Our story “Your People Will Be My People,” featuring the Attawapiskat First Nation in northern Ontario, was published in 2015 as part of Hot Apple Cider with Cinnamonanother wonderful collection by Canadian authors.

In the meantime, several writers in my area decided to get a writers’ group going. Partnering with them was probably one of my best decisions. We all enjoyed monthly motivation, feedback on our work, support in prayer and presence, and the sheer pleasure of being in the company of like-minded writers with the same faith values.

And we even wrote a book together!

friendsintheword-astheinkflows-02

And now, as I look back over these past six years, I see new books on my shelves… and I also see God at work in each partnership that made these books possible. And I cannot help but look forward to many more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.